Administrative and Legal Frameworks 2021-03-17T20:28:27+00:00

Administrative and Legal Frameworks

The devolved system of governance set out in the Constitution of Kenya 2010, establishes the National Government and 47 County Governments as distinct governance entities. The National Government is responsible for agricultural, health, land, planning, education policy and standards, and housing services. The County Governments are responsible for agriculture, county health services, county transport, trade development and regulation, county planning and development; and pre-primary education, village polytechnics, home-craft centers and childcare facilities.

The County Governments are also responsible for implementation of specific National Government policies on natural resources and environmental conservation; county public works and services; and ensuring and coordinating the participation of communities and locations in governance at the local level among others.
With regard to refugees, the National Government is mandated by the Refugee Act of 2006 to deal with matters relating to refugee management.